Headhunters – Film

13 Jan

Headhunters

Five and a half weeks of winter break has meant five and a half weeks of mostly doing nothing.  With all the down time I’ve sat through a few dozen movies.  Whereas the selection of domestic releases available at a local Family Video covers a very wide range, the foreign choices available are mostly high-budget dramas and art film.  I watched the Norwegian Hodejegerne or Headhunters a few days ago, and am naming it now as my favorite movie of the last two months (apart from Skyfall, which after seeing twice in the theater has rekindled my old aspirations of ultimately working as a spy or at very least of driving a pimped-out Aston Martin DB5).

Headhunters follows a corporate headhunter named Roger (Askel Hennie) who supports his luxurious lifestyle by stealing art.  One night during a showing at his wife’s art gallery, Roger meets the menacing Clas (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau), acted by the same man who plays “Jaime Lannister” in HBO’s greatest gift to the world, Game of Thrones.  Roger’s wife tells him that Clas has inherited a priceless Rubens painting which is currently sitting in his apartment in the city.  Obviously Roger then goes to steal the painting, but in doing so he opens the door to a whole world of crazy plot twists and turns which I won’t get into here.  Every now and then a movie comes along that, about two-thirds of the way through, makes me announce to the people I’m watching with that “This movie is awesome.  I love this movie.”  Headhunters is one such movie.  Go see it.

One Response to “Headhunters – Film”

  1. Lily January 13, 2013 at 3:15 pm #

    That movie sounds great! I really liked Skyfall so I’ll be sure to check this one out. I’m of Norwegian heritage too, so it sounds like it’s meant for me. Thanks for following my blog!

"I'd appreciate your input." - The Bloodhound Gang's "The Bad Touch."

